Disabled Students' Commission

The Disabled Students' Commission (DSC) is an independent and strategic group that advises, informs and influences higher education providers to improve support for disabled students.

The Commission identifies and promotes approaches which work well for disabled students.

The group was set up to provide the independent challenge that is needed to make change happen across the higher education sector. It replaced the Disabled Students' Sector Leadership Group (DSSLG).

Considering the broad range of higher education provision across the sector, the group draws on best practice and encourages initiatives that are proven to work for disabled students before, during and after their studies.

Group membership

The members of the Disabled Students' Commission are:

John Blake Director for Fair Access and Participation, Office for Students (OfS representative)
Sean Cullen Former Disability Officer, Brunel University (student voice commissioner)
Susan Daniels Chief Executive Officer, National Deaf Children’s Society (general commissioner)
Professor Sarah Greer Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, University of Worcester (general commissioner)
Patrick Johnson Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, The University of Law (general commissioner)
Professor Deborah Johnston Pro-Director (Learning and Teaching) and Professor in Development Economics, SOAS University of London (general commissioner) 
Professor Geoff Layer Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Wolverhampton (Chair of the Disabled Students' Commission)
Piers Wilkinson Higher Education Policy and Campaigns Lead, Diversity and Ability (student voice commissioner)

Dr Sam Parrett, Chief Executive Officer and Group Principal of London South East Colleges, has been appointed as a further education adviser to the commission.

Group secretariat

Advance HE are managing the Disabled Students' Commission.

Further information on the DSC’s work and commissioners can be found on Advance HE's website.

Terms of reference

Last updated 21 February 2022
21 February 2022
Page refresh and membership update
09 March 2020
Announced commissioners and group secretariat of the DSC

Describe your experience of using this website

Improve experience feedback
* *

Thank you for your feedback